Monday Musings: February

So much has happened since I last posted! Oh well, I will try to post more regularly. :)

On February 8th, I saw Wicked on Broadway! It was amazing. I’m listening to Defying Gravity right now. I have to say, that is one of my favorite songs. :)

I’m also reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for the third time. Now I’m thinking: what should Christians’ standards be regarding these things that have some witchy content?

I think it’s all a matter of personal conviction. But although one person might be convicted that he is free in Christ to read Harry Potter, another person might not. Where do we go with that? Well, I think the answer is found in 1 Corinthians 8:9-13, where it says;

“Be careful, however, that the exercise of your rights does not become a stumbling block to the weak. For if someone with a weak conscience sees you, with all your knowledge, eating in an idol’s temple, won’t that person be emboldened to eat what is sacrificed to idols? So this weak brother or sister, for whom Christ died, is destroyed by your knowledge. When you sin against them in this way and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ. Therefore, if what I eat causes my brother or sister to fall into sin, I will never eat meat again, so that I will not cause them to fall.”

Leave a Reply

