Monday Musings: Shakespeare

So… this past week I had the amazing privilege and blessing to perform in Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream as Helena. I’m a part of the Lancaster Academy for the Performing Arts, which put on Shakespeare as their fall play with the West End Shakespeare Co.

 

It was so. much. fun. Rehearsals started in August and the play was September 21 and 22. There were 3 shows. I got to know so many people who I’d only been acquainted with before! We had a lot of fun together.

While I’m sad that it’s over, I’m really happy too. I’ve become way better friends with everyone and now I can’t wait to see them every week at choir and stuff.

Some pictures from the play:

 Godspeed Fair Helena!

This world lack worlds of company

Wherefore was I to this keen mockery born!!??

Crystal is muddy….

OH SPITE!

LO! She is one of this confederacy!

Have you not set Lysander, as in scorn…

OH EXCELLENT!

Let me go!

And sleep, which sometimes shuts up sorrow’s eye, steal me awhile…

But you mock me too?

And by the way, let us recount our dreams.

I can hear my Thisbe’s face!

Doth the moon shine that night?

 

Anywhooo… Shakespeare was a wonderful first experience with Academy drama! I had an amazing time and the people I became friends with were so fabulous!

 

 

One thought on “Monday Musings: Shakespeare

  1. This was so much fun. :) My favorite pictures here are “Crystal is muddy” and “Wherefore was I to this keen mockery”– I think you have the perfect expression of incredulity in the first, and outrage in the second. Also, the boys look so thoroughly PLEASED with themselves. Cracks me up.

Leave a Reply

