Monday Musings: One Day

One day we will understand. And we will, with great joy, proclaim, “The Lord is righteous in all his ways and kind in all his works” (Psalm 145:17).

From Desiring God (copyright Jon Bloom, 10/26/12)

Much of the Christian life is spent trusting Jesus now and understanding him later. Jesus typically does not feel it necessary to explain on the front end why he is doing something the way he is doing it. And, like Peter, when it looks wrong to us, we are tempted to object to the Lord’s will…His purposes for bringing or not bringing certain things to pass often extend far beyond us—maybe even generations beyond us. So during those times we need to remember Jesus’ words to Peter: “What I am doing you do not understand now, but afterward you will understand.”… 

…What Jesus is bringing about in the sometimes confusing, sometimes very painful work he is doing in our lives is sanctification. He is washing our feet. He not only bathes us, completely removing the guilt of our sin in his cleansing work on the cross, but in love he keeps forgiving us and disciplines us so that we will share his holiness….

…One day we will understand. And we will, with great joy, proclaim, “The Lord is righteous in all his ways and kind in all his works” (Psalm 145:17).

Trusting that “One day we will understand”

Reading this, I am totally in awe of God. In love he keeps forgiving us and disciplines us so that we will share his holiness. That is amazing! Trusting God can be so hard. I fail at it so often and so badly. If only I would remember! But no, over and over again, I forget. I forget so, so, easily that God is the trustworthy One. I think I can trust in myself. I can’t.

I don’t know what God is doing right now, and a lot of the time, I don’t want what he’s giving me. But what he’s giving me is wonderful, in the end. Why? because it brings him glory. In my heart of hearts, that’s what I know he’s doing but I still question him.

Oh, Father… Help me to trust you with all I am!

The full Desiring God article

Leave a Reply

