monday musings: when what is wrong seems right

How the world may be changed//In just one burst of light//And what was right seems wrong//And what was wrong seems right

~ABC Cafe {Marius}

Lately I’ve come across several circumstances where the lines are blurred between right and wrong. Where it’s hard to decide what to do. Hard to decide to follow what you know as absolute truth, or to convince yourself that “it’s not that bad”.

What do I do when “what is wrong seems right”? What do I do when everyone around me is acting one way, and I know I’m supposed to act the opposite?

Especially in the area of gossip, I’ve been taken aback by the fact that it is so easy for me to gossip about others when “everyone else” is too. It’s hard to stand up and say “I will not participate in saying rude, false, or mean things that put someone else in a bad light.” Because that’s what gossip is. It’s hard to stop myself from saying bad things about someone else because of what I truly feel about them, or because everyone else is talking about them rudely.

And yes, I do end up saying things I shouldn’t. I need to put a filter on my mouth and bridle my tongue with the help of the Holy Spirit.

I don’t know what to do. I don’t know what to say. All I know is that I cannot agree to go against who I am in Christ. In Christ, I am not the old person, who can’t resist the snares of the Devil. In Christ, I am a new person, a person who should stand up for what she believes, no matter what.

2 thoughts on “monday musings: when what is wrong seems right

  1. Megan, you’re not alone. I know exactly what you’re talking about. It can be really hard to say no to a “nice juicy” gossip. I mean, “everyone else is doing it and they don’t seem to think it’s wrong.” And “that comment they made just opened the door so wide, how could I resist?” You’re not alone. Love ya! <3 :)

  2. Same here. I know people are starting to gossip, and I know what their saying isn’t right, but I don’t want to be the “odd duck” and stand up for the person they are gossiping about. And then sometimes I find myself joining in when I know it is wrong, but sometimes it is a pleasure to say nasty things about people. When I am doing that I need to shut my mouth and remember that this person being gossiped about, whether because she is “different” or whatever, may be a child of God. He knows about her differences, but still loves her. I need to learn to remember that.

Leave a Reply

